NBIM Publishes Corporate Governance Note

The following post comes to us from Gavin Grant, Head of Active Ownership at Norges Bank Investment Management, and is based on an NBIM discussion note, available here.

The Oslo-based Norges Bank Investment Management (NBIM), which manages the USD 650 billion Government Pension Fund Global, has published a discussion note setting out its expectations on corporate governance in equities it owns around the world. In particular, the firm outlines reasons it concentrates ownership resources on board accountability and equal treatment of shareholders.

In defining its expectations, NBIM has considered the challenges of protecting its interests as a globally diversified minority shareholder in light of empirical and theoretical evidence. Such a perspective has led the firm to question the basis for the near-universal consensus in support of features appearing in corporate governance codes, given that NBIM finds gaps in academic evidence for many of them. The discussion note takes the view that principles should be seen as best practices only. Deviations from them, if well thought out and persuasively justified, should be both expected and welcomed, in NBIM’s view.

NBIM’s intention is not to provide another code of corporate governance for companies to comply with or report against. Rather, it seeks to set out priorities for corporate governance as a means to foster dialogue and mutual understanding. Underlying the firm’s expectation statement is the idea that market practices should conform to high-level universal principles rather than to detailed prescriptive rules. To this end, NBIM invited input and testing of its views by a number of practitioner and stakeholder groups. The firm continues to welcome comments from all stakeholders, as mentioned at the end of the discussion note.


  • Subscribe

  • Cosponsored By:

  • Supported By:

  • Programs Faculty & Senior Fellows

    Lucian Bebchuk
    Alon Brav
    Robert Charles Clark
    John Coates
    Alma Cohen
    Stephen M. Davis
    Allen Ferrell
    Jesse Fried
    Oliver Hart
    Ben W. Heineman, Jr.
    Scott Hirst
    Howell Jackson
    Robert J. Jackson, Jr.
    Wei Jiang
    Reinier Kraakman
    Robert Pozen
    Mark Ramseyer
    Mark Roe
    Robert Sitkoff
    Holger Spamann
    Guhan Subramanian

  • Program on Corporate Governance Advisory Board

    William Ackman
    Peter Atkins
    Joseph Bachelder
    John Bader
    Allison Bennington
    Daniel Burch
    Richard Climan
    Jesse Cohn
    Isaac Corré
    Scott Davis
    John Finley
    David Fox
    Stephen Fraidin
    Byron Georgiou
    Larry Hamdan
    Carl Icahn
    Jack B. Jacobs
    Paula Loop
    David Millstone
    Theodore Mirvis
    James Morphy
    Toby Myerson
    Morton Pierce
    Barry Rosenstein
    Paul Rowe
    Rodman Ward