Say-on-Pay Litigation: Part Deux

William Savitt is a partner in the Litigation Department of Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz. This post is based on a Wachtell Lipton firm memorandum by Mr. Savitt, Jeremy L. Goldstein, Kim B. Goldberg, and Michael J. Schobel.

In recent months, several public companies have been subjected to lawsuits by plaintiffs alleging inadequacy of executive compensation disclosure for purposes of the non-binding advisory shareholder vote on executive compensation (“say-on-pay”) required by the Dodd-Frank Act. In some cases, the complaints regarding say-on-pay disclosure have accompanied complaints regarding disclosure of amendments to equity compensation plans requiring shareholder approval. These new lawsuits follow earlier and largely unsuccessful fiduciary duty challenges brought against directors of companies that failed their say-on-pay votes; however, in contrast to the earlier cases, these new suits are actions brought as soon as companies file their proxies and seek to enjoin the shareholder vote from taking place.

The lawsuits that have been brought against companies holding say-on-pay votes are generally brought on the ground that their compensation disclosure is inadequate for shareholders to make an informed decision about the compensation resolution. Allegations in these actions frequently have included disclosure claims relating to (1) peer group selection, (2) compensation consultants, or (3) the particular mix of salary, cash incentive, and equity incentive compensation granted to executives. Allegations in actions regarding equity compensation plans frequently concern disclosure of the potential dilutive effects of the proposed amendments. In certain instances, plaintiffs have obtained settlements requiring companies holding votes on equity compensation plans to supplement their compensation disclosure and pay attorney’s fees.

In a positive development last month, in separate cases, federal and state courts refused to grant injunctions on say-on-pay claims. In Noble v. AAR Corp., the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois denied the plaintiff’s motion for a temporary restraining order enjoining the shareholder vote, noting that the plaintiff could not cite any law requiring the requested disclosures. And in Gordon v. Symantec Corp., a California state court likewise denied an injunction after the defendants submitted an expert report establishing that the allegedly omitted information was rarely, if ever, included in the filings of peers in the defendant’s industry.

While this new litigation trend is potentially troubling for public companies, the AAR Corp. and Symantec decisions suggest that courts will be properly cautious about letting litigation interfere with annual meetings. Companies should continue to carefully review their compensation disclosure to ensure that it fulfills the requirements of the securities laws, paying particular attention to areas on which the plaintiffs have focused to date. In addition, companies should be prepared for the possibility of having a similar suit filed against them this proxy season and should develop a litigation strategy in anticipation of this risk.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Subscribe or Follow

  • Cosponsored By:

  • Supported By:

  • Programs Faculty & Senior Fellows

    Lucian Bebchuk
    Alon Brav
    Robert Charles Clark
    John Coates
    Alma Cohen
    Stephen M. Davis
    Allen Ferrell
    Jesse Fried
    Oliver Hart
    Ben W. Heineman, Jr.
    Scott Hirst
    Howell Jackson
    Wei Jiang
    Reinier Kraakman
    Robert Pozen
    Mark Ramseyer
    Mark Roe
    Robert Sitkoff
    Holger Spamann
    Guhan Subramanian

  • Program on Corporate Governance Advisory Board

    William Ackman
    Peter Atkins
    Allison Bennington
    Richard Brand
    Daniel Burch
    Jesse Cohn
    Joan Conley
    Isaac Corré
    Arthur Crozier
    Ariel Deckelbaum
    Deb DeHaas
    John Finley
    Stephen Fraidin
    Byron Georgiou
    Joseph Hall
    Jason M. Halper
    Paul Hilal
    Carl Icahn
    Jack B. Jacobs
    Paula Loop
    David Millstone
    Theodore Mirvis
    Toby Myerson
    Morton Pierce
    Barry Rosenstein
    Paul Rowe
    Marc Trevino
    Adam Weinstein
    Daniel Wolf