International Experts Form Council on Global Financial Regulations

Editor’s Note: This post draws on an article that first appeared on the Harvard Law School website.

Hal Scott, the Nomura Professor and director of the Program on International Financial Systems at Harvard Law School, has been named co-chair of the newly-organized Council on Global Financial Regulation. The Council has been formed by a group of private sector international financial leaders to provide national and international policymakers with independent recommendations from outside government for effective regulation of the global financial system, particularly regulation with significant cross-border implications.

According to a statement released by the Council on Global Financial Regulation, the Council believes that the worldwide financial crisis demonstrates that sound financial regulation must be achieved through international cooperation. Government leaders have called for a greater role for the G-20 and other international government bodies, such as the Financial Stability Board, to encourage a better coordinated international financial regulatory system. The Council aims to play a constructive role in supporting that process by providing government policymakers and regulators with independent recommendations, research, analysis and commentary. The Council also aims to be available for consultation with government officials as a resource on cross-border financial regulatory issues.

The Council believes that, although there have been important improvements in international regulatory cooperation and coordination over the past two years, there remain pressures toward divergence from coordination, tendencies toward unilateral assertion of regulatory proposals with cross-border implications, and new risks of regulatory arbitrage among jurisdictions. The initial focus of the Council’s work will be on pragmatic ways to enhance international direction and coordination of global financial regulation.

The Council will be composed of 15 private sector experts in the field of financial regulation, representing 11 different nationalities. In addition to Co-Chairs Hal Scott and Michael Prada, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the International Valuation Standards Council, the members include:

  • Roel C. Campos, Partner in Charge, Cooley Godward Kronish LLP and Former Commissioner, Securities and Exchange Commission;
  • Sir Howard Davies, Director, London School of Economics;
  • R. Glenn Hubbard, Dean & Russell L. Carson Professor of Finance and Economics, Columbia Business School; Co-Chair, Committee on Capital Markets Regulation;
  • John L. Thornton, Chairman, The Brookings Institution; Co-Chair, Committee on Capital Markets Regulation; and
  • Olin Wethington, Chairman, Wethington International, LLC; Former Assistant Secretary, U.S. Treasury.
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

  • Subscribe

  • Cosponsored By:

  • Supported By:

  • Programs Faculty & Senior Fellows

    Lucian Bebchuk
    Alon Brav
    Robert Charles Clark
    John Coates
    Alma Cohen
    Stephen M. Davis
    Allen Ferrell
    Jesse Fried
    Oliver Hart
    Ben W. Heineman, Jr.
    Scott Hirst
    Howell Jackson
    Robert J. Jackson, Jr.
    Wei Jiang
    Reinier Kraakman
    Robert Pozen
    Mark Ramseyer
    Mark Roe
    Robert Sitkoff
    Holger Spamann
    Guhan Subramanian

  • Program on Corporate Governance Advisory Board

    William Ackman
    Peter Atkins
    Joseph Bachelder
    John Bader
    Allison Bennington
    Richard Brand
    Daniel Burch
    Richard Climan
    Jesse Cohn
    Isaac Corré
    Scott Davis
    John Finley
    David Fox
    Stephen Fraidin
    Byron Georgiou
    Carl Icahn
    Jack B. Jacobs
    Paula Loop
    David Millstone
    Theodore Mirvis
    James Morphy
    Toby Myerson
    Morton Pierce
    Barry Rosenstein
    Paul Rowe
    Rodman Ward