Bebchuk to Become President of the Western Economic Association International

The corporate governance and law and finance research of Lucian Bebchuk, Director of the Program on Corporate Governance, was recently recognized by the Western Economic Association International (WEAI). The WEAI elected Bebchuk to serve as its Vice-President during 2010-2011, President-elect during 2011-2012, and President during 2012-2013.

Founded in 1922, WEAI is a non-profit, educational organization of economists, with 1,800 members around the world, dedicated to encouraging and communicating economic research and analysis. Its past presidents includes Nobel Laureates James Heckman (2007), Clive Granger (2003), Oliver Williamson (2000), Gary Becker (1997), Milton Friedman (1985), James Buchanan (1984), Kenneth Arrow (1981) and Douglass North (1976).

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.


  1. Bob Monks
    Posted Wednesday, June 30, 2010 at 8:43 pm | Permalink

    Bravo Lucian.
    Your arrival and your principled scholarship have been the needed and appreciate pilar upon which the legitimacy of modern corporate governance depends.
    COngratulations and always thank you for your work.
    Your friend, bob monks

  2. Topman
    Posted Saturday, May 28, 2011 at 10:22 am | Permalink

    Many congratulations to Lucian Bebchuk for becoming the vice president of WEAI. It is recognition of the great services rendered by Lucian Bebchuk over the years.