International Corporate Governance Network Honors Bebchuk

Last week, at the 2011 annual meeting held in Paris of the International Corporate Governance Network (ICGN), Professor Lucian Bebchuk received an ICGN award for excellence in corporate governance. ICGN awards are given annually in recognition of “exceptional achievements in the corporate governance field.”

According to the remarks delivered at the ceremony by the chair of the ICGN awards committee Richard Bennett, Bebchuk received the award “for the volume and quality of his research, particularly around executive compensation and the relationship of governance to value and firm performance. Over two decades this research has provided a base of integrity and learning for scholars, policy makers, and legislators.” Quoting a letter from Robert Monks, Bennett added that Bebchuk “is the epitome of honest, painstaking, unprejudiced analysis; he is in truth an academic icon” and that “[a]ll of us are in his debt.”

The ICGN is a global membership organization of over 500 leaders in corporate governance based in 50 countries. Information about the ICGN awards, and about the past recipients of such awards, is available here.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. Posted Saturday, October 22, 2011 at 6:07 am | Permalink

    That is a good sign from ICGN to conduct this type of activities for the promotion of Corporate Governance.

    International Journal of Governance

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

  • Subscribe

  • Cosponsored By:

  • Supported By:

  • Programs Faculty & Senior Fellows

    Lucian Bebchuk
    Alon Brav
    Robert Charles Clark
    John Coates
    Alma Cohen
    Stephen M. Davis
    Allen Ferrell
    Jesse Fried
    Oliver Hart
    Ben W. Heineman, Jr.
    Scott Hirst
    Howell Jackson
    Robert J. Jackson, Jr.
    Wei Jiang
    Reinier Kraakman
    Robert Pozen
    Mark Ramseyer
    Mark Roe
    Robert Sitkoff
    Holger Spamann
    Guhan Subramanian

  • Program on Corporate Governance Advisory Board

    William Ackman
    Peter Atkins
    Joseph Bachelder
    John Bader
    Allison Bennington
    Richard Brand
    Daniel Burch
    Richard Climan
    Jesse Cohn
    Isaac Corré
    Scott Davis
    John Finley
    David Fox
    Stephen Fraidin
    Byron Georgiou
    Carl Icahn
    Jack B. Jacobs
    Paula Loop
    David Millstone
    Theodore Mirvis
    James Morphy
    Toby Myerson
    Morton Pierce
    Barry Rosenstein
    Paul Rowe
    Rodman Ward