The Day After Brexit

Alec J. Burnside is a partner in the Brussels office of Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP. This post summarizes a recent Cadwalader presentation by Mr. Burnside and Adam Blakemore, available here.

An exit vote yesterday, June 23, 2016, will confront many companies with a host of challenges. Our presentation, available here, discusses the immediate legal questions firms will need to examine:

  • Does the vote trigger break clauses or termination rights in my contracts?
  • Will my seconded staff have to return to base?
  • Will my firm’s passport to do cross-border business be cancelled?
  • Where will I have to notify my latest company acquisition?
  • Will my exports and imports face tariffs?
  • How might the UK’s tax system be affected?
  • Will the new Data Protection regulation apply in the UK?

This concerns businesses in Asia, the US and worldwide for whom the UK is an entry point to the EU market. To say nothing of trade between the UK and its former EU partners. In the complete presentation, available here, we look over the horizon into an uncertain future.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Subscribe or Follow

  • Supported By:

  • Program on Corporate Governance Advisory Board

    William Ackman
    Peter Atkins
    Richard Brand
    Daniel Burch
    Jesse Cohn
    Joan Conley
    Isaac Corré
    Arthur Crozier
    Ariel Deckelbaum
    Deb DeHaas
    John Finley
    Stephen Fraidin
    Byron Georgiou
    Joseph Hall
    Jason M. Halper
    Paul Hilal
    Carl Icahn
    Jack B. Jacobs
    Paula Loop
    David Millstone
    Theodore Mirvis
    Toby Myerson
    Morton Pierce
    Barry Rosenstein
    Paul Rowe
    Marc Trevino
    Adam Weinstein
    Daniel Wolf

  • Programs Faculty & Senior Fellows

    Lucian Bebchuk
    Alon Brav
    Robert Charles Clark
    John Coates
    Alma Cohen
    Stephen M. Davis
    Allen Ferrell
    Jesse Fried
    Oliver Hart
    Ben W. Heineman, Jr.
    Scott Hirst
    Howell Jackson
    Wei Jiang
    Reinier Kraakman
    Robert Pozen
    Mark Ramseyer
    Mark Roe
    Robert Sitkoff
    Holger Spamann
    Guhan Subramanian